Hammock
    Tablecloth
    Suspension
    Whoopies

Newbie - How long to trust Turtledog stand and hammock?

I'm totally new to hammocking and this is a definite newbie question. I bought a WBBB off of Craigslist and after my camping trip fell through, decided to make Turtledog stands so I could use my hammock before the next time I can plan to get to the woods. I'm not very good at DIY, but I'm always optimistic :-) I got the TD stands made with the help of a friend and after doing a fair bit of troubleshooting, I have gotten them to stay still and let me get into the hammock (at first, the back legs on one side kept levitating off the floor). I have managed to get in the hammock (with lots of pillows underneath in case of failure) and lay reasonably flat. All seemed reasonably stable with little to no bowing of the ridge pole. However, I can't imagine relaxing enough to go to sleep! What's the best way to acclimate to trusting 6 2x2's and an overhead pole? How long has it taken folks to adapt to inside stands when first using them? I didn't expect this! Thanks!

If you don't trust your woodwork NOW when it's brand new, I'm not sure it will ever get better.

Wood ages, dries out, splits. Nothing that I've ever built, from a sawhorse to a tree house, has ever gotten STRONGER with age.

Just my 2/100 of a buck.

Hammock
    WBRR, Lots of DIY
    Tarp
    MacCat; Cloudburst
    Insulation
    Lynx, HG T/UQ, AHE
    Suspension
    Varies
    Quote Originally Posted by nc_robin View Post
    ...What's the best way to acclimate to trusting 6 2x2's and an overhead pole? How long has it taken folks to adapt to inside stands when first using them? I didn't expect this! Thanks!