Wilderness Logics Snipe
    Tarp
    OES MacCat Deluxe
    Insulation
    HammockGear quilts
    Suspension
    Straps & mule tape

Cool Hanger in Colorado

I am new to Hammock Forums and have already learned a wealth of information thanks to this site. My first experience with a hammock was a rope/string style backpacking hammock from REI back in the early 90's. I would do backpacking trips into the San Francisco Peaks just outside of Flagstaff, Arizona. I loved the fact that I could pitch a campsite onto a slope and avoid the saddles (which were often windy). Using a pad was my only means of insulation underneath and my shelter was a REI Goretex bivy sack.

I moved to Ohio (wonderful people but not inspiring for backpacking for me) where my backpacking/camping gear stayed in storage. Now back out West (Denver region) and I have been fitting in about 4 or more short trips each year. I bought an ENO SingleNest and have been using it with a pad, then a DIY poncho under quilt. While my setup was not perfect yet for me, I quickly remembered the benefits of a hammock. I now have a OES MacCat Deluxe tarp (very nice) with a HG Phoenix 20* under quilt and a WL Snipe hammock on their way. For suspension I am using DIY whoopie slings with tree straps and DutchWare accessories (I can't believe how small and useful his gear is).

My focus is moving towards ultralight backpacking (though I am not there yet, my pack weight is below 20* without consumables) but I also enjoy car camping trips and having just bought a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon I look forward to using that to get me deep into the mountains. I also have gotten into hunting big game (last year was my first elk hunt)...no...didn't get one yet.