Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    DIY gathered end
    Tarp
    DIY silnylon
    Suspension
    Whoopie

make a UQ from an old sleeping bag?

I've been curious about how well UQ's work compared to a regular old sleeping pad. I've been using a pad mainly because I'm on a very tight budget and I already had one. But I have been increasingly bummed about how fidgety it is to get everything situated when you lay down. And then you have to get up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night and start your fidgeting all over again when you lay back down. Getting an UQ situated once and then pulling up a top quilt whenever you lay down seems really nice. Maybe it's different than this - I have never actually tried one.

Anyway, I have an old 20 degree sleeping bag that I almost never use. Are there any instructions out there already for converting a synthetic mummy bag into and UQ? By no means am I a sewing machine expert but have made quite a bit of gear and feel like if it doesn't get too fancy that this is solidly in the "doable - but probably not with a real pretty finished product" category.

I know very little about UQ's having not actually laid eyes on one. What I'd do right now (not having any advice about how to really do it): lay the bag open, rip off the zipper, cut to extend the zipper opening so I can use most of the footbag, cut off the bottom of the footbag and hood, cut it to size (as wide as my hammock [which is 5']?), sew channels on the sides (to adjust the UQ along the length of my hammock) and sew channels along the two ends so I can cinch things up to eliminate drafts, I'd put shockcord in all the channels. Missed anything that will keep this improvised UQ from performing well (I probably have)? (Nothing fancy just want a decent UQ)
    "The more I live, the more I learn. The more I learn, the more I realize, the less I know." - Michel Legrand

Hammock
    WBBB
    Tarp
    DIY
    Insulation
    Pads
    Suspension
    Whoopies