spent my first night in the backyard this weekend

I got an eno singlenest probably over 5 or 6 years ago as a Christmas gift from mom. This was before the company got any traction because she found it at some sort of craft show. I thought it was a neat gift but never messed with it.

Fast forward to this fall and I did some camping in Virginia to do some deer hunting. That was the first time I had camped in quite sometime. Now that my son is scouts I see myself camping a lot more. I slept horribly it was cold and I could not get comfortable on the ground. I'm a cop who works night shift so sleeping at night is hard enough for me without being so uncomfortable.

I broke out the Google and discovered this movement to hammock camping. I already had the hammock so I acquired a set of Atlas straps and started sleeping in the basement during the day. That helped my back almost immediately. I slowly assembled a kit adding a jarbridge underquilt and a tadpole tarp. For the tarp I also got 2 door kits and the pole mod.

I got a few hours alone on Saturday so I hung the tarp in porch mode and add the hammock. I spent a awhile outside just watching Netflix on my phone it was great about 65 degrees and absolutely perfect. I told my wife I was gonna sleep out tonight and I get the "you're crazy and pissing me off" look. My wife complains a little because we rarely get to share a night in bed together because of my schedule and I want to spend one of those few nights outside in a hammock. I try to explain it to her and I begin to see the futility so I just tell her I'm sleeping outside. It is quickly followed by her exiting the room shaking her head.