Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    Dream Hammock Dangerbird
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings

Dangerbird vs. Blackbird

Newbie here, I did a quick search but didn't see exactly what I was looking for. Please forgive me if this has been discussed at length already as I am sure it is a comparison that has been drawn often before.

I was pretty sure that I was going to get a Hennessey as that is what one of my camping buddies has. That was until I stumbled on this forum. Now the two top contenders are the Dream Hammock Dangerbird and the Warbonnet Blackbird.

I camp in early spring and late fall in the Adirondack mountains, we see nights down near and sometimes below the 32 degree mark. That being said I was thinking about getting the DL Blackbird so I could use one of my existing ground pads with it. Then I saw the Dangerbird and fact that it is sold as a four season. I don't really consider my camping to be four season but am wondering if it will be that much warmer than the Blackbird?

One final note is obviously overall comfort, I understand this is subjective but any argument for one or the other is welcome. Thanks!!

Edited to Add:
    I am a medium framed but shorter camper, around 5'5" and 150 ish lbs
    Last edited by skinn; 02-05-2014 at 07:40.

Hammock
    DH Thunderbird
    Tarp
    WL Bullfrog/Tadpol
    Insulation
    Jarbidge/UGQ
    Suspension
    Straps/whoopies
    One thing you'll want to consider is that the Dangerbird will have an overcover and the Blackbird will not. If you are looking for a hammock with an overcover you might want to consider the Blackbird XLC and Thunderbird from Dream Hammock.

Hammock
    Dream Hammock Dangerbird
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Oh boy, the Blackbird XLC wasn't on my radar for some reason. I guess now I have another decision!! I like the looks of that too, any pros or cons for going with the Blackbird XLC??

Hammock
    DREAM HAMMOCK
    Tarp