Tarp
    DIY 'winter' tarp
    Insulation
    DIY CS UQ
    Suspension
    whoppie slings
    Images

Underquilt air gaps

I am working on an under quilt for a custom asym hammock I just finished making. I'm kind of new to this. I've read that air gaps between the quilt and the hammock will result in cold spots, which sounds bad. However, in experimenting I'm finding it particularly difficult to come up with a shape the will hug the hammock everywhere.

A lot of designs I see (KAQ for instance) seem like they cannot possibly be eliminating all gaps.

How critical is this and are there some tricks (shaping or design) that might help me?

Hammock
    BB
    Tarp
    zpacks cuben
    Insulation
    te-wa Freeze
    Suspension
    whoOpie slings
    Images
    i found that a 2/3 or 3/4 length UQ will solve the issue of gaps at my lower legs. i had tried to solve an issue with lower leg gaps that could not be totally removed lest i had too tight a fit under the torso. maybe its me, maybe its my hammock. full length quilts work for many a hanger, but i just prefer the shorter, no fuss design of a 2/3 length.

in a philosophy targeted at my UL principles of packing and shelter, the small ccf pad i use under my lower legs takes care of insulation, and works as a sit pad, and works as my pack frame in some instances but in many cases its a multi-use item that functions very well for all of its intended purposes. i have to strap it across the top of my ULA Conduit and its a minor pain to hike through brushy terrain so id rather not place it there... so im going to mod the conduit to have a bungee system across the front, keeping the pad vertical. Also, if i had to go to ground it would work as a torso pad, down to freezing. (its about 24x30x3/8)

you may find if you use a full UQ that the center-foot end drawstring feature (found on Jacks R Better quilts) will help you keep that footbox gap-free. It worked great for my Hudson River UQ.