Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Hammock
    Skeeter Beeter Pro
    Tarp
    ENO Profly

Is this fabric okay for a hammock?

Newbie here....

I've done a lot of searching online for what rip stop nylon looks like and I found this at my local wally world today. I ended up buying 9.5 yards of it hoping it's the rip stop that everyone talks about.

I can blow through it, so it's breathable for sure. I asked the lady at the store and she told me that it was either nylon or polyester. From what I see others use, this fabric is not shinny like the others, but that maybe the coating that this one doesn't have.

I've ordered a Skeeter Beeter Pro and it should be here tomorrow, but I want to make a double layer hammock for my daughter (145 lbs) and I'm hoping this will work.

Thanks in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Hammock
    diy, hk2001,bmbh
    Tarp
    diy hex or aysym
    Insulation
    diy's,jarbidge!!!!
    Suspension
    whoops, ucr, dutch
    Images
    How stretchy is it? If it dosen't stretch to badly and is breathable it Should work great.

Hammock
    Skeeter Beeter Pro
    Tarp
    ENO Profly
    I'll have to check the stretch to see. One of the Wally worlds I went into had about 20 different bolts of various nylon material. Some shinny and some see through, but I couldn't find any with these little squares throughout the fabric. Does all the coated nylons and the breathable nylons suitable for hammocks, quilts and tarps shows these ripstop squares as dominate like the material in the pic above? If not, can someone please explain how to look for these particular materials.

Thanks.

Hammock
    Exped Ergo
    Tarp
    Exped Combi
    Insulation
    Sleeping bag+pad
    Suspension
    Eyelet line+ biner
    Quote Originally Posted by zigzag3337 View Post
    If not, can someone please explain how to look for these particular materials.
    Thanks.