Hammock
    DIY gathered end
    Insulation
    Pad+bag. UQ soon.
    Suspension
    Whoopie+TH

Feed dogs eating material.

While trying to make a small stuff sack for my hammock tonight, I encountered an aggravating issue.

Primarily when beginning a stitch, the edge of the ripstop gets pulled down by the feed dogs and creates a bunched-up mess.

Has anybody else encountered this problem? What measures might I take to cure the issue? Is there some setting that might need adjusting? I'm quite new to sewing so I'm really at a loss.

Thanks in advance.

Hammock
    WB RR, BB
    Tarp
    Cluodburst, MJ
    Insulation
    Down
    Suspension
    D-rings and straps
    Seems like I remember (been a while) that what you have is caused by an imbalance in the tension settings. That the top tension is too loose. Maybe?

Cvt

Hammock
    G-Bird II/Bridge
    Tarp
    Ogee tarp
    Insulation
    DIY TQ DIY Down UQ
    Suspension
    whoopies
    Images
    A new needle. If the needle is dull or bent, it will not perform properly.
    Clean the feed dogs, balls of lint/fuzz make the machine work hard.
    Make sure your machine is threaded properly. Including the bobbin.

Those three rules are first.
    If your machine is making quality looking stitches on test material, then dont do a lot of adjusting. Sometimes its just technique.

Start your stitch a 1/2" in, and backstitch to (near) the edge. Then go forward.
    Hold the tails of the thread firmly for the first few stitches.
    Go slow at first. Some times you may need to work a few stitches by hand-spinning the wheel. Then apply the throttle.

You can play with a few adjustments.
    Foot pressure? Increasing it will help hold the material flat and tight.
    Thread and needle size are mismatched?
    Thread is too thick/stiff?
    Using the proper foot for your project.
    Make sure your feed dogs are at the proper "UP" position. Most machines have a "dogs UP/Down" switch or lever.