Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hammocks for stomach-sleepers?

Hello, this is my first post here. I originally posted this question in the Touring section over at Bike Forums, and a few fellow cyclists suggested I visit you here.

I've never used a hammock before, but lately I've been looking into Hennessy and Clark hammocks. My problem is that I tend to sleep in some rather creative positions, most of them being on my stomach, and pretty much never flat on my back. It seems like 90% of the online reviews I've read of these hammocks have stated that their users were unable to get comfortable on their stomachs, and the minority seem to have had no problem (but then again, I have no way of knowing if the writers of those reviews are hardcore stomach-sleepers like me).

Are any of you stomach-sleepers? If so, how have you adjusted to sleeping in your hammocks? Have you found ways to sleep comfortably on your stomachs (and if so, are there any special tricks that you've used to do so...sleeping pads or mats or anything of that sort)?

I don't think I've ever successfully fallen asleep flat on my back, but one of the members of Bike Forums had the following interesting advice about adjusting to hammocking: "Your body will adapt. For the same reason that you don't roll off the bed in your sleep your body will get used to the idea of sleeping a little different." This makes a lot of sense, but I'm still concerned because historically my body has been very stubborn when it comes to sleeping positions.

Thanks for any advice, insight, etc.

Hammock
    Bridgeskin
    Tarp
    DIY Blackcat
    Insulation
    DIY Quilts
    Suspension
    Whoopie sling
    Images
    I don't sleep in my stomach but I would think the only real chance of doing it would be in a bridge hammock.
    Peace Dutch
    GA>ME 2003

www.MakeYourGear.com
    http://dutchwaregear.com[/URL]
    Visit Dutchwaregear on facebook (and like it)
    Check us out on Twitter @dutchwaregear

Hammock
    GrizzBridge Ariel