Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AT in 2021 :)

zzman

AT in 2021 :)

Hi all. Total noob here. I've done a very small amount of backpacking, but a fair bit of sleeping outside. I'm in the Army, so "the field" is not exactly camping, but has similarities.

Anyway, I've always been interested in doing some more backpacking and am intrigued by hammocks. I am also an obsessive researcher so have a good idea what I'd like to try. (WBBB, gossamer gear 1/4", maybe the mamajama tarp, wondering if I can do w/o the UQ since I'm looking to make AT thru hike the goal. Winter camping does not appeal to me now).

The AT thru at 2021 has to do with my expected retirement date. I plan to add some stuff here and there and get out as much as the wife allows. That ain't much But I have pre-negotiated the thru

Hammock
    Warbonnet Ridge Runner
    Tarp
    MacCat Ultra Spinn
    Insulation
    Warbonnet Lynx
    Suspension
    Straps
    Images
    Doing the AT with a hammock is defiantly doable. I did it in 2010.

zzman
    Oh, forgot to mention, I'm in Monterey, CA right now for a little bit longer. I expect to PCS to Omaha NE about May 14. One daughter, age 18 months and another girl on the way in DEC. I'm 44, so some might think that a late start. As alluded before, the wife has zero interest in backpacking and the kids are obviously too young. That is my biggest challenge now.

Hammock
    WBRR, 35 inch dogbones
    Tarp
    WL Tadpole/OMWintr
    Insulation
    UGQ/HG/AHE
    Suspension
    Whoops/Dutch Bling
    Images
    You could take a 3/4 UQ and foot pad and get by,,some of the 3/4 quilts only weigh starting out at 10oz or so,,with all the new fabrics,,send emails to some of the suppliers and see how little a UQ will weigh. But I think if you use a hammock,,below 60,,you might find out the need for a UQ or a pad if you choose a 2 layer hammock.

zzman
    Quote Originally Posted by attroll View Post
    Doing the AT with a hammock is defiantly doable. I did it in 2010.