Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Buckeye3185

Talking Lone newbie from CBus Ohio - Help w/ DIY stand

Good morning gals/gents. I am new to the swinging style of hammocks. My direction to this forum was through a Google search on how to DIY a one tree hammock stand. I bought 2 hammocks for lounging in my backyard while on a cruise in the Caribbean. I bought them without taking in consideration the location of the few trees in our backyard. Only to come home somewhat frustrated and disappointed that no 2 trees were close enough. Friends and family mentioned going to local stores and purchasing a stand for each, but that cost would drive me up well over $250 for 2 stands and not of the best quality. So, being a DIY'er for most things I feel I can tackle, I decided to start my search. While doing so I came upon this forum and have found out some great benefits of hammock camping and the hammock "lifestyle".

So to get to the point of this thread besides my intro: how to DIY a single tree stand? I have seen a couple of set-ups on here, but I need something that is fairly stable and will be able to hold at minimum 230#. As no one in my immediate family is that weight (yet ) I would still like to know that the stand can withstand more weight than what I put on it.

Also, I would like the ability to breakdown the setup on an "as needed" basis due to the unpredictable weather here in Ohio. It would be nice to keep it somewhat aesthetically pleasing as possible too.

Sorry for being long winded, but any and all advice is welcomed!!

Happy Swinging
    -Buckeye

Hammock
    WL Lite Owl
    Tarp
    Luke's LB HG hex
    Insulation
    HG TQ/UQ
    Suspension
    SlingRings/Straps
    Images