Tarp
    ENO Profly
    Insulation
    Ozark Trail Cocoon
    Suspension
    ENO Atlas

Good weight?

Hey guys,

I am still very new to this world of hammocks so there is much I don't know. I see a lot of people worried about their weight and how to shave the ounces. I recently bought some ENO gear to complete my camping needs and took inventory of the weight.

Some of these might be off because things like carabiners might weigh more/less than I think but its an estimate.

DN Hammock ~20 oz
    Superfly Tarp ~22 oz
    Guardian Bug Net ~16 oz
    ParaPillow ~10 oz
    Atlas Straps ~11 oz
    Stakes ~1.6 oz
    Carabiners ~2 oz
    Ozark Cocoon SBag ~24 oz

= 106.6 oz ~ 6.5 lbs

In my eyes 6.5 lbs for shelter and comfortable sleeping sounds like an awesome weight but its hard to judge without me having it on my back for hours on end. Although this doesn't include food, clothing, water, cooking supplies or even the backpack itself, is this lightweight? Or should I look for weighs to cut back?

Thanks for any help!

Hammock
    Darien UL
    Tarp
    ZPacks Cuben
    Insulation
    WL SSUQ/HG TQ
    Suspension
    Dyna Whoopies
    Lightweight is a very subjective thing. To me 6.5lbs is pretty dang heavy considering my summer base weight is 6lbs. But if you're someone that's used to carrying an 8lb tent then it's pretty lightweight. It's not really about the title of lightweight so much as whether or not you're comfortable carrying that amount of weight for the distances you travel. The only way to answer your question of is this lightweight is to load your pack and hit the trail. If you're comfortable and can hike as far as you want to and are not crawling into camp exhausted and in pain then, yes it's lightweight. If not then you need to cut some weight.