Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Youth Recommendation

I'm new to the hammocking world. I didn't know about this forum until after I purchased my first system. I bought the Hennessy based on a recommendation of a friend. I am happy with my system so far. My 12 year old son is wanting a hammock. After learning about the forum and the cottage manufacturers, I'm inclined to by from BIAS, Wilderness Logics or Warbonnet. At this point, I'm leaning towards the BIAS or Wilderness Logics. I have to admit, I have no other reason at this point other than I'm originally from Tennessee and now live in North Carolina. Does any of these manufacturers (or another that I've not mentioned) have a hammock/bug system better suited for youth. Does "youth" matter or is it still "I just like how this one feels" better?
    Thanks,
    HBH

Hammock
    Raven, SLD Streamliner
    Tarp
    Hanger11WB,WntrHvn
    Insulation
    HG,UGQ,JrB
    Suspension
    UCR's
    Images
    I certainly wouldn't overlook any of the cottage vendors you mentioned, but my 13 year old son loves his Grand Trunk skeeter beeter. After using longer hammocks I find it small for me, but it fits him well at around 5'.

Hammock
    Warbonnet BB
    Tarp
    HG Cuben Fiber
    Insulation
    HG UL and TQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie Sling
    Images
    +1 on the Grand Trunk... It is cheap, and when we are talking about little guys sometimes cheap is the way to go. They can be hard on things...

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images
    My sons seem to have issues with integrated bugnets. They always find a way to rip them by sitting on them or some other creative way.

They have yet to rip one my BIAS bugnets. I still don't trust them with my Weight Weenie Micro hammocks, so they are relegated to tablecloth hammocks. I tend to think kid hammocks should be tougher material than 1.1 oz ripstop because kids abuse stuff.

Hammock