Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Newbie needs help with setup

Hello,

I am completely new to hammock camping and I am overwhelmed with all the systems and information I'm reading about.

My GF bought me a ENO DoubleNest along with the Atlas Straps. I've only used it once so far at the park, but it seems to work fine.

I also have the ENO Guardian BugNet which I have not used or set up yet.

Lastly, I will be purchasing a tarp to keep with me in case of rain. Most likely a Hennessey Hex.

My ENO BugNet came with this thin rope that I'd like to not use. So I'd like to use some leftover paracord instead. I want to be able to use this paracord kind of as a line for me to hang a pouch from to keep some small items, but also to use as suspension for my BugNet when I need it. Furthermore, I'd like to just throw the tarp on top of that too when it starts to rain.

So, how do I get this done? How much paracord do you think is sufficient to carry around with me in my hammock pack? 20 feet?

How do I tie the paracord to each end? What is the simplest way to tie both ends nice and tight? I am willing to buy something to make that easier. I am even willing to buy something other than paracord if you think I should spend the money.

My plan was to buy 2 Nite-Ize Figure 9's to attach each side of the paracord to each tree. Just wanted to check with you guys before I make the purchase.

If that will work, then I will basically just have my ENO DN hammock, ENO Guardian bugnet, Atlas straps, Paracord (how long?), 2x Nite Ize Figure 9 Large, Hennessey tarp, 4 stakes for the tarp (I'm thinking MSR Groundhogs).

One more question, what do you guys use as an accessory pouch? If I wanted to hang a pouch on my bugnet/tarp line for small items.

Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by tspunk; 06-04-2013 at 14:16.

Hammock
    DIY Extra Wide & Long Tablecloth
    Tarp
    Funky & GG Tarps
    Insulation
    DIY down UQ
    Suspension
    continuous L. Amst