Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

WBBB for newbie? Would HH Explorer be better?

Hi all,

I have been sleeping in a hammock since Jan of this year.

My hammock was a very thrifty ripstop I purchased from BestBuy, which has served me well as an indoor-only hammock, used in place of a bed.

Unfortunately the hammock isn't very well made, and the rope suspension that is sewed into the ends of the hammock has frayed, and now the core has split -- my next hang will probably break it fully.

While I have plenty of experience sleeping in a hammock indoors, I have no experience with the outdoors. With the hot weather coming (and a house with no A/C), sleeping outdoors sounds good to me.

My biggest concern is that I have never set up a hammock on trees, and have zero knowledge of knots.

With that in mind, my requirements for a hammock are thus:

Roomy, I'm 6' ~210lbs. I'm concerned the smaller HH Explorer would not be too comfortable, compared to the WBBB which is rated for much taller people.

A skeeter net is mandatory, and I will need a tarp (which I understand has to be purchased afterwards for the WBBB, but is there a cheaper DIY solution?)

Other than that, I'm really looking at what has the most friendly suspension. I believe they both have a ridgeline which should help,

The final requirement is quality. I'll be sleeping in this either outdoors or in almost every night.

My budget is <$250, since I know I already really enjoy sleeping in a hammock I'm not afraid to spend some money.

I'm leaning towards the WBBB with a DIY tarp, but I'd love suggestions.

Are there any accessories that would make life easier in regards to suspension?

Thanks for the help everyone!

Hammock
    WBBB/TR, DIY, HH, SB DL, GT UL
    Tarp
    ID/OES/WB/WL
    Insulation
    HG/WB/Go-Lite/WB
    Suspension
    Whoopie/Straps/DW
    Images