Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Simply Light Designs Trail Haven 11 Hammock Tarp

This is a review for the Trail Haven 11 silnylon tarp made by Jared from Simply Light Designs (www.simplylightdesigns.com). I found some of his products online and ended up buying a whoopie ridgeline and some sil-nylon stuff sacks. When I got them, I was impressed with the quality and attention to detail. I emailed him about future products and what I was looking for in a hammock tarp. The Trail Haven 11 is the result. I’ve been using it since the April 2013 and have had it out on three trips so far, a couple overnight backyard hangs and numerous day hikes to test it out in various conditions. It will be going out with me in June for a 5 day trip to Pictured Rocks in Michigan’s UP. I’ve experienced snow, rain, calm weather, and heavy winds gusting up to 30 mph. Through it all , it’s held up fine and given me confidence that I’m well protected. It fits my Eno singlenest with about a foot to spare on either end.

Trail Haven 11 specs: Weight is 14 oz (in stuff sack) with tie out lines and it packs to about the size of a 1 liter bottle. Ridgeline is 11 feet and measures 132” by 96”. My version is the cat cut, but he also offers it as straight cut. It has 2 mid-panel pull out loops on each side to gain a little more space inside. It works well with trekking poles and nearby trees. ¾” D-rings on either end of the ridgeline make setup a snap with my CRT, made with Nite-Ize “figure 9” and “s”carabiners. The included guylines are reflective, and the 4 line locks on each corner really help during setup and after it’s been pitched. Mine has the additional edge tie outs on the ends and middle. It give that extra security when your out in bad weather. On the underside of the ridgeline there’s three sewn loops for attaching a bugnet or for hanging items.