Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Choosing Temp Rating of Down Items

I'm new to backpacking. I live in southwest Virginia (Blacksburg). I plan to hike primarily from late March early April into early October. I will pre plan trips to try not to head out when it dips below freezing as I'm not sure about cold weather camping yet.

Question is, how do I choose my down rating? It would seem 45 degree might not work early in the year and a 20 degree set would be very hot in the warmer months. So which to choose and why?

Which quilts would you choose and why? From which vendor? I can only afford one set right now so buying both isn't an option.

Thanks guys.

Hammock
    WBBB Dbl 1.1
    Tarp
    OES deluxe
    Insulation
    UGQ
    Suspension
    whoopies
    Get a 20* set, since it will work for 10* below what you plan for. As for camping in the weather warmer than that, lots of things can be done. $10 cheap fleece liner from some cheapo big box store works for when the temps are above 60* all night. you will find yourself kicking off the covers in some temps, but 20* is a good starting place.

Hammock
    WBRR
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    Lynx/Quilts
    Suspension
    Straps
    Images
    I'd also start with a 20* setup. It's easier to vent than to add heat. You may end up getting a second warmer weather set eventually but 20 is a good place to begin.
    Brian
    Denver, CO
    Father. Husband. Scoutmaster.

Hammock
    DIY Gathered End
    Tarp
    Big Daddy Tarp
    Insulation
    CCF/
    Suspension
    Whoopee Sling

Choosing Temp Rating of Down Items

I went with a 20* under and 40* top quilts. I figured its much easier to add insulation to the top since anything you lay on compresses. Vent in summer and add sleeping bag liner in winter.

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Pj1008 View Post