Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

CPAP while hammock camping in cold temps?

I've been using a CPAP since 1998. This year I have finally got a battery and cpap combo that is small enough and light enough to untether myself from campgrounds and the grid electrical supply. I was out camping a couple of weeks ago when the temps got down into the low 20s. My UQ worked wonders and stayed comfy all night long. BUT - I just about froze my face off with the cpap mask and the cold air it was blowing into my nose all night long. I actually had to take it off for a short period of time. Anyone got any good setups for insulating the hose and possibly the cpap unit itself that would allow me to use it more comfortably in very cold temps?

Hammock
    WBBB 1.7 dbl
    Tarp
    UGQ H11WB
    Insulation
    UGQ TQ/UQ
    Suspension
    WBBB straps
    All my imagination can muster is getting an extra long tubing between the unit and your face, and looping it close to your body for heat.

Hammock
    WL Snipe
    Tarp
    WB, ZPacks
    Insulation
    Incubators/Pod
    Suspension
    Whoppie/Strap
    Images
    Hammock sock or peapod. That's what use with my CPAP on the winter.

S

Hammock
    Warbonnet Ridgerunner
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    Lynx or Pads
    Suspension
    Straps and Biners
    Images

Heat exchanger

Insulate the hose with perhaps some foam tape from the home improvement store. If you can stand your own smell, can you configure an intake that pulls air from under your quilt? Your body heat will pre-heat the incoming air. You might also be able to rig up some kind of "re-breather" setup. Maybe have your outgoing breath blow across the incoming tubing (think of it like a heat exchanger).

I'm not sure how it works but maybe something like this:
    http://www.directhomemedical.com/TR-...avel-cpap.html

Hammock
    DIY, Dutch Argon
    Tarp
    Squidbilly/Tadpole
    Insulation
    20 Incubator,WL SS
    Suspension
    whoopies, MSH