Henny Asym
    Tarp
    Hex-Cat Tarp
    Insulation
    Down
    Suspension
    Adjustable Slings

Down-Proof, Breathable, and Stretchy?

Anyone know of a fabric with these characteristics? Ideally something synthetic, but a blend would be okay, too. I want to try an UQ with a form-fitting interior surface that will stretch around the hammock when occupied for a air-tight seal with the insualtion. Closest thing I've found is PU coated lycra blend--doesn't sound too comfortable to lay on, though!

TCB
    www.hammockforums.net --I get it!

Hammock
    DIY End Channel
    Tarp
    DIY Winter tarp
    Insulation
    UGQ and HG
    Suspension
    Kevlar, amsteel.
    Images
    I don't know of any fabrics with those characteristics but if you make an uq with a stretchy inner material won't you compress your insulation?

Hammock
    LeanGreen/BigRed/DIY
    Tarp
    CatCut Hex/GG12
    Insulation
    Fur I grow myself
    Suspension
    Of Disbelief
    Images
    I'm no expert but I'd think that any fabric with enough strech to form fit under your weighted hammock is not going to be down proof.

If you want to give it a try though, you could cut the inner shell of your UQ on the bias if using ripstop nylon. It will stretch much more that way than the normal in line cutting allows.
    *Heaven best have trees, because I plan to lounge for eternity.

Good judgement is the result of experience and experience the result of bad judgement. - Mark Twain

Trail name: Radar

2014 Smoked Butt Hang Planning Thread | Sign up Sheet

Hammock
    Darien UL
    Tarp
    ZPacks Cuben
    Insulation
    WL SSUQ/HG TQ
    Suspension
    Dyna Whoopies
    Montbell uses a stretchy downproof fabric in their sleeping bags. Not sure if it's something available to purchase somewhere or if it's manufactured just for them.
    "As a well spent day brings happy sleep, a well spent life brings happy death." -Da Vinci

Hammock
    Henny Asym
    Tarp
    Hex-Cat Tarp
    Insulation
    Down