Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    TW XL black at the moment
    Tarp
    Still looking
    Insulation
    Modified mummy bag

Jumping in at the deep end.

I've gone and booked myself some time in a relatively local campsite to see how things go with my hammock set up, it's maybe slightly misguided but I'm determined to get it to work so I'm giving myself no choice.

I think I have everything I need and except for really driving rain I should be comfortable, warm and dry.

Any tips for a complete novice?

I'm being driven to the site and left there so I have no escape for 2 nights, I have a hike planned for the second day so I can't take any luxuries that I won't be able to carry on the hike (like my lovely Tilley lamp).

I have a buddy with me who is determined he will be more comfortable in a tent and I desperately want to prove him wrong!

Thanks for any replies in advance.

Hammock
    DIY Hennesy
    Tarp
    Sml asym & LG Rect
    Insulation
    Down
    Suspension
    whoopie
    Bring some extra rope for when your buddy realizes how much better sleeping in the hammock is and decides to hang his tent in the trees. :-)

Seriously though, I would bring extra rope and maybe one of those cheap 9.00 walmart backpacking tarps. They are 5x7 and pretty light.

I was concerned about how comfortable the hammock would be, the first time I slept in it was less than encouraging. I tossed and turned all night. The next night was much better though and now I have no problem sleeping in it. It takes getting used to that's all. Getting the hang right was the toughest part. I made the entire setup so I was worried I screwed something up but everything actually worked great.

Good luck on your adventure!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "I wish I had a swing like that in my back yard"

Hammock
    Tarp
    Still looking
    Insulation
    Modified mummy bag