Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    ENO DoubleNest / XL Brazilian
    Tarp
    Int.Des. Siltarp 1
    Suspension
    Whoopies/webbing

Florida Insulation

So, I've been tweaking my gear load-out for a bit now, and I've got my hammock, tarp, bug net, and suspension all figured out (for now), but I'm in need of something for insulation. I've been using the same old coleman sleeping bag for the past 18 years or so, and on my last trip the zipper finally blew out. That thing was bulky and heavy anyway, and I'm now looking for something more compact and lightweight.

I've been considering a fleece sleeping bag liner, because it's Florida and it doesn't get that cold.

I've also thought about an under-quilt, but I honestly think that would be over-kill for all but a week or two down here. And I have to admit, the whole concept of an under quilt is fairly new to me and I'm a bit intimidated by it. Do they interfere with the natural sag of your hammock? Most of what I've seen for under quilts have been stuffed with down. Could a simple wool blanket serve as a sufficient under-quilt for warmer weather?

Has anyone tried a fleece sleeping bag liner in the colder parts of the year and if so, did they find it sufficient? Or does anyone have an alternative suggestion for insulation that would keep me warm at around 40 degrees (it does't normally get much colder here) but not be way too warm on a 70 degree night?

I know a lot of people use a pad for insulation, but I'm not crazy about that idea. Not sure why to be honest, but I'd rather go with a sleeping bag or a lightweight UQ.

I thought about one of those foil "emergency blankets" but I could see that bunching up or becoming uncomfortable. Anyone have experience with these?

I know there are a lot of Florida hangers here. What do you guys use for insulation?
    -- Graedore

"Buy the ticket, take the ride." -Hunter S Thompson

Hammock
    Tablecloth w/ fronkey net
    Tarp
    Toxaway
    Insulation
    TUCKuilt, pad