Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images

So you wanna be a cottage vendor

There was a recent post on cottage vendors that seemed to inflame people but I am hopeful mine will not. I have thought about becoming a cottage vendor (not in the near future or even in the next couple of years, most likely). However, there is no way I would start selling products without understanding the legal, ethical, and branding issues my cottage business would face. Several questions cross my mind:

1. Incorporation - I'm no lawyer, but I believe incorporation protects individuals from having their personal assets taken in litigation/bankruptcy, so I assume this one is a no-brainer.

2. Liability insurance - for what products would it be necessary? A backpack, tarp, or quilt? I doubt it. It would take a very creative lawyer to sue a business for harm done by any of these items.

On the other hand, suspension-related items, hammocks, and even stoves, maybe so. There's a reason Boy Scouts don't allow alcohol stoves. Then again, the Boy Scouts take cases to court as much as they're taken to court so forget the Scouts.

3. Patent infringement - I've heard from forum members that Tom Hennessy used to be quite litigious, but I haven't heard any legal activity recently. Is there a list of hammock-related patents somewhere on this forum? I'm sure it's probably wise to avoid making a Hennessy knockoff, but are there other patents of which one should be aware?

4. Poaching ideas - now this is one that really fascinates me, because so many people on this forum put out ideas for which they seek no monetary recompense, but are simply trying to share ideas with forum members to enrich the community.