DIY gathered end
    Tarp
    DIY ray way kit
    Insulation
    JRB TQ / Te Wa UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopee + straps

Getting ready to make my first hammock

OK, the box arrived from DIY gear supply, and I should have enough time this weekend to sew up what I currently intend to make, a simple gathered end hammock. I am totally new to this hammock business, but sorta competent at sewing. I have 7 yards of their 1.1 ounce ripstop, along with the cord and such I oughta need.

So, I am asking you all to speak up if you have any advice before I dive in! I figure to just sew the simple design like on the DIY gear supplies site. It will be a 2 layer hammock because I plan (at least to start) to use a thinlight pad (1/4 inch and 41 inch wide) I ordered (and received) from Gossamer Gear. I figure that is a good way to get started and see how I like this hammock thing -- then it will be on to underquilts and all of that. Since this is Arizona and things are warming up, this should make for an OK start.

But ... are there other designs I oughta give serious consideration to? I don't want to get into anything too advanced at this point, but I am always ready to listen. My danger is that I can complicate something to the point where I don't get it done in a reasonable time. Anyhow, thanks for reading and for any bits of wisdom.

Hammock
    WB RidgeRunner
    Tarp
    8x10 DIY (speer)
    Insulation
    KAQ Lost River
    Suspension
    Straps
    Images
    DIY Gear supply's instructions are great... I've made 2 from them...

Take your time, and don't be in a rush. Read the instructions through completely, and mark of each step.

It's really pretty easy, just don't be in a rush. Use new sewing needles.

If you are not accustomed to sewing, get some scrap fabric. Oh, use all 7 yards for your hammock, just fold in half... My favorite DIY is 11' long... you won't be disappointed!