Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Suitable fabric for underquilt

Hi All,

This is my first post here but I've read SO much. I'm looking into the cheapest (and I mean I need to spend very little, as I'm all spent up on the hammock, tarp, whoopies... etc) way to make a simple under quilt. I found this place and this fabric, but is it any good for this purpose? I intend using Primaloft One for the insulation but their site says it needs down proof fabric.

The fabric is narrow so I may need to sew two lengths side by side but I hope that wont cause any issue.

I'm in the UK so some of the insulation and fabric options mentioned here are not easily available.

Just to add I'm VERY new to the hammock world (and camping generally) and I'm still at the "testing it all in the garden" stage so far. I want to get something warm sorted for my first night in it though as it's still dipping to near freezing here at night at the moment and I want a good first experience.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

The Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota
    Hammock
    WARBONNET 1.1 DOUBLE, DIY BRIDGE
    Tarp
    DIY ARGON CAMO/BMJ
    Insulation
    DIY DOWN TQ/UQ
    Suspension
    STRAPS/BUCKLES
    don't know why it wouldn't work

it says it's down proof, if you don't mind sewing two pieces together to get it wide enough i think it would work

looks like it is 1.1oz per yard or so, that is what alot of people make their quilts out of, so i say go for it, the price is certainly cheap enough at $1.50 a meter

boot
    The surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is that it has never tried to contact us. ~Bill Watterson

Thanks for the reply boot. It was the weight I wasn't sure about so that helps. Also wasn't sure if the silicone coating was ok breathability wise. Might get enough to do a top quilt too!

Thanks

Hammock
    DIY, WBBB & Switchback
    Tarp
    HG cuben,OES Spinn
    Insulation
    DIY 3/4 UQ/TQ, UGQ
    Suspension
    Dynaglide / Dutch
    Images