Darien UL
    Tarp
    Zpacks Asym
    Insulation
    WB Yeti
    Suspension
    Dynaglide Whoopies

8x8 enough for decent rain?

OK so I am pretty new at this and am putting together a UL hammock kit. I am coming from being a SUL backpacker with a base weight of 4.5 lbs for my 3 season kit. The only real hang up I am having is figuring out a tarp. I have considered the HG 4 season at 6.5 oz but realize that I then need more stakes and guy lines. An 8x8 from Zpacks is something like 4.5 oz and only needs two stakes. I am planing to make a ghost hammock like Sgt. Rocks from 1.1 ripstop with dynaglide USRs and using 6' tree straps with dutch clips and a marlin spike hitch to connect to the suspension. My plan is to also make a HUG for my bug net.
    I am in the SF Bay Area and do not usually get a lot of rain but am plaining more hikes up in the sierras and doing the JMT in a year or so. Could I pull that off with an 8x8 or something even more minimalist or should I go the HG 4 season route? I am using whopieslings.com Dutchware ridge line for my tarp so it will be easily adjustable to cover the hammock. So many decisions LOL it makes my head spi.

I am 6' tall and 175 lbs.

Hammock
    3xWBBB1.0dbl, XLC, DIY
    Tarp
    superfly, maccat d
    Insulation
    DIY UQ/TQ/UGQ/HG
    Suspension
    whoopies, E.trunks
    An 8 foot ridgeline is a little short imo. If you contact adam or any of the tarp makers I'm sure you could get something custom. If carrying stakes is an issue what about just using sticks on the ground and weighing them with rocks? Have you looked at ti stakes? Lawson equipment and I think papasmurf sells them. I think Lawson still had cuben tarp kits you could pick up and modify to your dimensions or maybe he could cut it for you.

Good luck
    http://smartoutdoors.webs.com/ elephant trunks, tarp keys and crosses

Hammock
    Bonefire™ Bridge
    Tarp
    Bonefire™ Shadow
    Insulation
    Bonefire™ UQ
    Suspension
    Bonefire™ Deluxe
    Images