Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

light weight insulation

G'day all,
    I am a noob from Western Australia where we have a moderate climate and don't need some of the awesome down UQs you need for winter camping elsewhere. It's usually fairly warm at night, especially in summer, and I just need a thin bit of insulation against stray breezes.
    Hope you gurus might be able to help me with a thought I have had (rare though they be).
    I was thinking about using some Tyvek as a type of in-hammock UQ and getting my poor,long suffering wife to sandwich it between polar fleece. That way it would pack up small, would fit inside my HH rather than outside and I could use it as a ground sheet if required.
    My thinking is that the reflective qualities would keep me warm, the polar fleece would stop it sliding around and the Tyvek would stop any drafts.
    I could possibly even convince my dear wife to put some velcro in place so it wouldn't slip too much.
    Any thoughts would be appreciated.
    Cheers
    Bloffy13

ok so I take it nobody likes my idea. I'll run with it and see how it comes up.
    Cheers
    Bloffy13

Hammock
    diy hammock
    Tarp
    diy 10x10
    Insulation
    homemade UQ w/sock
    Suspension
    rings and webbing
    i could see that working. If it doesn't get cold much you won't need much.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.7 DL
    Tarp
    Chinook 9.6x9.6
    Insulation
    AH New River UQ
    Suspension
    Came with the BB
    Images