WBRR
    Tarp
    diy sil argon camo
    Insulation
    lynx
    Suspension
    whoopie slings

whoopie sling question

Hey guys, Ive been hanging for quite a while, but when it comes to whoopie slings, Im a newbie! I just made my first whoopie sling, and have a question: I followed the directions on the amsteel website--------for my adjustable loop, the buried part is supposed to be around 12 inches-----------I measured carefully, buried the loop----and it comes out to about 10 inches---------is this normal? also, on the locked brummal, does burying the end give it strength, or does it just get the tail out of the way? Im used to speer straps---amsteel is kind of scary for me---Im a pretty big guy, and it seems so thin! -------I like the idea, and am willing to give it a try, buy dont want to end up on the ground!
    FYI: If you want to know what type a certain bear is, sneak up behind it and kick it. Then,
    run like crazy and climb up a tree. If the bear climbs the tree and eats you, it's a black
    bear. If the bear just pushes the tree over and eats you, it's a grizzly bear : )

Do not walk behind me, for I may not lead. Do not walk ahead of me, for I may not follow. Do not walk beside me, either, just leave me alone.
    --unknown

Hammock
    WBBB 1.7 SL
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    WB and UGQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies or Straps
    Images
    The bury actually shortens the outer amsteel because of the way the strands in the diamond braiding moves. This movement is what allows for the expansion and constriction making the whoopie sling able to do what it does.
    I think the locked brummel can hold weight on its own but the bury provides a lot of the strength.
    Don't let life get in the way of living.

Hammock
    WL Light Owl/Dangerbird
    Tarp
    WBBMJ Spinn+doors
    Insulation
    HammockGear Down!!
    Suspension
    Whoopies
    Images