Hennessy Ultralite Explorer
    Tarp
    Hennessy Stock
    Insulation
    No Sniveller TQ
    Suspension
    Straps and Slings

Exclamation Not good enough??

I'll be hiking the AT starting in mid march-april 1st and I'm new to hammocking. That being said, is the Jacks r better no sniveller and the 3/4 thermarest I have going to cut it for my sleep system? I had thought about buying either a phoenix or incubator from hammockgear.com, but if what I have is sufficient I'd rather not spend the money. The phoenix is smaller, so if I paired that with the thermarest would that be alright?? I appreciate any input!!

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by conburn View Post
    I'll be hiking the AT starting in mid march-april 1st and I'm new to hammocking. That being said, is the Jacks r better no sniveller and the 3/4 thermarest I have going to cut it for my sleep system? I had thought about buying either a phoenix or incubator from hammockgear.com, but if what I have is sufficient I'd rather not spend the money. The phoenix is smaller, so if I paired that with the thermarest would that be alright?? I appreciate any input!!
    First, is that a Thermarest inflatable, which one is it ( how warm, how much R factor, how wide?) and do you know if you will be able to keep it under you in the hammock? What kind of lows are u expecting?

Hammock
    Martian Bridge (DIY)
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    The phoenix is a dedicated 3/4 length under quilt (52" long) and won't be suitable as a top quilt at all. Which thermarest do you have and what are its dimensions? Most are only 20" wide and that will be a challenge to keep under you. Also only being 3/4 length, you're going to likely need some extra insulation for your lower legs and feet.

If you can swing it, I would save up for a dedicated underquilt as it will allow for a great degree of comfort in a wider variety of conditions.

Cheers

Brian

Hammock
    WBBB
    Tarp
    Custom OES
    Insulation