Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

First hang with warbonnet blackbird

After fixing my issues with the cinch buckles I had my first hang with my new hammock in the backyard today. Here is a pic of my wife trying it out. She thought it was so comfortable she wants me to buy a second one for her!

I'll be taking it out next weekend on the trail. This is my first time with a hammock, everything look cool with this hang? I'll say from my testing it seemed pretty fine.

Hammock
    Dream Hammock
    Tarp
    HG Cuben Camo
    Insulation
    HG Incubator
    Suspension
    Whoopies
    Looks pretty good. You might want to try a little steeper hang on the foot end - optimal seems to be about a 30 degree angle. Congratulations!

Hammock
    3xWBBB1.0dbl, XLC, DIY
    Tarp
    superfly, maccat d
    Insulation
    DIY UQ/TQ/UGQ/HG
    Suspension
    whoopies, E.trunks
    that's good to hear. do you have an UQ for it or are you just going to use a pad for now? i thought that was a black bear with a frisbee for a second.

Thanks, Yeah I wasn't sure I had the best angles but it was already so comfy I could easily have dozed off if my wife didn't want to try it too . I'll experiment a little more tomorrow.

Unfortunately a UQ isn't in the budget right now so I'll be using a ccf. I still don't have one, I checked out the wallyword but they are 5'10" and I'm 6'3" so I'm still looking for something to get enough length and width (I'd like at least 24"). And the black bear was also quite interested in getting in the hammock

For a tarp, I'm also still looking around. I am so impressed with the quality of the blackbird that I have pretty much decided on a mamajamba from Warbonnet, which will pretty much tap out my budget for backpacking gear this summer.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 DL
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    HG Burrow & Poenix
    Suspension
    Web Strap
    Nice set up there! Glad you got your buckle issues solved. Dont forget the trip report when you take her out!!!

JimT