Two person quilt idea + questions.

I think that for the forseeable future I'll be camping in the tent and I need a light weight, summer option for sleeping. I have a 0 degree winter bag and my son also has a winter bag but in the summer they are just too much, not to mention heavy.

He is 3 and likes to snuggle while we camp which also makes using a bag difficult. I use a 2 man tent with inflatable pads, I was thinking I could make a down quilt that would cover both of us. Here is what I was thinking and I'm hoping to get some advice on size and loft from you guys. I'd like to use this down to the mid 40's if possible but more importantly I don't want to roast when it is in the mid 60's at night.

I'm 5'11" so I thought to make the quilt 6 foot long 72" and 60" wide, at the bottom add a 5" panel 50" wide to make a sort of foot box, it will be open on the bottom but I thought it might help it lay better.

I would want baffles that run width direction, right? I was thinking 1.5-2" of loft so 1.5" baffles? Finally with that little loft how far apart should the baffles be? Will the foot box idea work like I'm thinking or should I just make it longer?

Thanks for any tips, there are lots of great quilts on here, can't wait to get mine finished.

Let me ask another question. If I shoot for 1.5" loft with a mid 40's temp goal, can I do a sew through or do I still need baffles? I was reading over on thru hiker that for 30* and up sew through is fine. This is for summer use, I don't really expect to use it below 40.

Any thoughts?

Hammock
    ENO Doublenest
    Tarp
    DIY 10' x 12' Sil
    Insulation
    Winter Incubator
    Suspension
    Whoopie + webbing
    Hammock Gear makes a sewn through Summer Burrow TQ that is listed as good for 45 - 50 deg F. Loft is right in line with what you are planning and their chambers run in the width.