Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    Incubator
    Suspension
    Whoopies

Bridge ?'s - The Good and the Bad

Hi all,

I need to start off by saying that I'm very new to hammocks.
    I've never owned one, or for that fact, never even laid in a camping style hammock, only the backyard leisure type.

I'm going to buy or make a hammock, no doubt about that.
    In fact, over time, I'll probably end up BOTH buying and making a few hammocks (realistic about getting carried away in my hobbies) of different styles.

Right now I like the idea of combining some characteristics of the WBBB, HHDJ, and the Clark NA, all into one hammock of the DIY variety, but am being honest with myself in thinking that would be a lot to bite off and chew for a first time DIY hammock project.

SO....... comes the reason for this thread.

I've seen the "Bridge Design" and like the simplicity.
    I see the downside of the spreaders as far as packing and such, but also like the idea of the open feeling I believe they must help create.

I've read about the "tippy" feeling this type of design causes, but feel I can overcome that with the addition of a tie out or by the way you actually rig the suspension to the tree (or a combination of both).

I like the fact that it would seem MUCH easier to adapt, customize, or DIY netting and winter panels for this design as well, since the "squareness" of the top should make it much easier to work with.

I ask the more experienced hanger out there to please comment on my ideas, as well as on the basic benefits and short commings of the bridge design itself.

ie:
    Is it easily used as a chair/lounger?

Does the design create more or less "squeeze" than a gathered end style?

Would a "DIY guy" benefit from adding some type of ridgeline hanging system to create more headroom for a bug net, or is the basic design sufficient?

Has anyone tried adding tie outs to this design and if so, your thoughts?