Tarp
    OES MAC
    Insulation
    IX or Pad
    Suspension
    Whoopie slings
    Images

Newby needing some help

I have never sewn anything and was thinking of making a simple light weight hamock for my first DYI project, is this something that i should be taking on? Is there a cottage resource that is has the fabric i will need thinking 1.1 or 1.7 ripstop?

Now here is the big one can anyone tell me what the different knobs do? I found online how to spoll thread but that was it.

I know a few of them but could use some help

Hammock
    Warbonnet Blackbird 1.7
    Tarp
    Zpacks Cuben Fiber
    Insulation
    Leigh's UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies/Treestrap
    Scott Littlefield is a member here and he has DIY materials at very good prices. http://backwoodsdaydreamer.com/
    As for the knob functions. I am by no means a expert. But I will give this a go. The knob on the left above the presser foot is for adjusting your thread tension. The stitch selector knob does exactly that. The straight stitch and ziz zag are the two that you will most likely use the most. The width knob adjusts the width of your selected stitch ( Mainly the zig zag and other fancy stitches). The big knob on the right is your stitch length adjuster (think stitches per inch). The reverse button is self explanatory. The stretch button I am unfamiliar with. I would suggest threading up your machine loading up the bobbin and then get a scrap of material and just try the different setting and just plain get used to using the machine.
    Terry

Hammock
    DIY bridge hammock
    Tarp
    OES/WB Superfly
    Insulation
    Incubator/Burrow
    Suspension
    WB Straps
    Images
    You could also check out RamblinRev's vids: http://www.hammockforums.net/forum/member.php?u=1466

Syb

Hammock
    DIY or Bonefire Whisper
    Tarp
    DIY Silpoly
    Insulation
    Incubator, Burrow
    Suspension
    Bonefire Deluxe
    Images