Grand Trunk Travel, Parachute
    Tarp
    Noah 12
    Insulation
    A work in progress
    Suspension
    noose

Handicap in need of hanger advice...

Hello, I am a Scout Master and we encourage our boys to get their fathers to come with us camping. One boys father was in a severe car accident lat year to the point that he had at least one of every thing break. He had to relearn to use one of his arms and to walk again not to mention that he spent several months in the hospital.

This father would like to go camping, he and I were talking because he knows I hang on most of our campouts. He says that he does not have the ability to pull his 6' 8" 250lbs frame off of the ground and wanted to look into hanging.

I was going to set my Grandtrunk up and see if he can get in and out of it. The last thing he can afford it to hit the ground and break something else.

Since I am a rookie, does any one have suggestions? What kind of hammock would work best for him, suspension, tarp and quilts..ect. ?

Thanks In advance!

First question is which Grand Trunk do you have? I ask as some are listed as 250lb and others are more! If you have one that is listed at 250lb, chances are it will hold, but is he willing to take the chance??? Best thing would be to have a hammock rated at 300lbs there are some made by Grand Trunk, Eno, Warbonnet, and other's! Then a webbing suspension, or whoopie sling suspension would hold just fine! I would stay away from the Slap Straps from Eno as they stretch terribly and really aren't worth crap!!! I would have him get one of these hammocks (which ever he chooses, cheaper or not) and then hang and try it out, then if he likes/loves it then go and get the tarp and everything else, as if he doesn't like it then it's not a major loss, and the hammock could be sold here if needed!
    Just my opinion!!!!!!!!!
    "yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift---thats why its called a present" - Master Oogway