DIY questions, noob stuff, etc

Hey all, first post and all that jazz. (Sorry, skipped out on an intro thread! )

I've got a backpacking trip coming up soon (no set date but I have almost a two week window in which to fit a 4-ish day trip before school starts up again), and of course I'm planning on bringing my hammock instead of a tent. Be warned, I'm about to ask a ton of questions that have probably been mostly asked before.

Since I'm a starving college student (ok ok, my fiancee feeds me pretty well, but I'm still on a tight budget), I was hoping to find a Chinook tarp or something like that. Guess who has them in stock? You got it; nobody. I'm thinking my next best (in the end, maybe even a better bet) is to pick up some silnylon from Noah and make my own tarp.

How do they ship, by the way? Are they quick? They certainly where in response to my email, which is always a good sign. I think I read somewhere here that they typically ship on a roll (maybe this is just for larger orders?). Would it be financially beneficial to me to ask them to just fold it and put it in a small box?

I've found a bit on DIY tarps here, but some questions remain unanswered as of yet. I like the instructions on Ed Speers' site. It looks simple enough (I haven't worked a sewing machine in years), so that's a bonus. I noticed in his instructions, the seam between the two pieces appears to run transverse, whereas a handful of the DIY tarps I've seen here have a ridgeline seam running end to end. Is there a particular advantage to one or the other for getting a good pitch?

I read in another thread there's a bunch of proponents of straight edged tarps here, but I know there's also a lot of proponents of catenary-cut edges. I understand this helps with a taught pitch and dealing with wind. Am I correct on that? Is the extra hassle worth it for a first-timer? Are cat curves significantly more difficult to hem/bias tape, or is it just a little more time-consuming?