Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

OK, I want one. Help me get started please

I'd like recommendations for a full blown camping hammock setup. It will be used for kayak camping trips and occasional backpacking. I'm an experienced backpacker and car camper although I'm slowing down and only get away for a few trips a year. Some of the destinations can be a challenge to find a nice flat tent spot.

I have several Eno style hammocks frequently used in the yard or to hang out in around a campsite but I'm thinking those aren't the best style for true hammock camping? I will want an underquilt for early/late season trips and I think an integrated net to keep out mosquitos? And a tarp. I have an older hollofill 20 degree sleeping bag that is still in good shape and I'm assuming I would use this in the hammock? I also have a set of cheap hammock straps, they seem to be made of thickish strap material and would upgrade to new straps if they were thinner and lighter weight. I'd like an attic or side pocket of some sort to put my phone, pocket knife, flashlight, etc.

I don't know if I should be a shopping for a hammock setup package or piecing together individual components. Any recommendations appreciated!

Hammock
    Circadian
    Tarp
    11 footer
    Insulation
    goose down
    Suspension
    Straps
    Images
    This is a great way to start........https://www.hammockforums.net/forum/...ials-For-Noobs

Thanks. I will watch those but I have to wonder if the models/materials/pricing/features are different given that post is 14 years old?

Hammock
    DW Chameleon, WB Eldorado
    Tarp
    Thunder/Superfly
    Insulation
    HG 20/40
    Suspension
    DW Beetle Buckles
    It's a journey...hammocks and gear are quite fiddly things. Anyone here can recommend what works for them, but sometimes it won't work for you. Take a look at some of Shug's canoe and kayak videos for info that might be more relevant to what you're looking for.