gathered end dutchware
    Tarp
    hennesy hex
    Insulation
    AHE new river
    Suspension
    whoopie slings

first ever overnight hammock trip

I've been playing around with hammocks since 2015 when I came across Shug's videos. Last night was my first ever night in a hammock (solo) in the woods.
    It was short as far as trips go. I wanted to make sure I was in a familiar place just in case, as the weather around here can be a little unpredictable at higher elevations. The weather called for no rain and a low of 39. My one and only UQ is rated to 15, so I figured I'd be nice and toasty with the option to vent if need be.

The hike in was pretty relaxing. This time of year there are hardly any folks on the trails. I saw not a soul northbound and southbound. I was venturing to a shelter I had been to before, although I stayed with a tent the last time. I remembered the sites being pitched with roots and rocks, so I thought this would be a perfect opportunity to try a hang and take advantage of not being on the ground for a change. In my 40s, I just don't sleep well on a pad any more.

Prior to this trip, I'd set up my hammock, messed around with tree length and suspension, and all the ins and outs, so there was plenty of practice. As I approached camp, I was getting a tad nervous with only an hour of daylight left. Would I find the right trees? Although the weather called for no rain, I wanted two trees in an open enough area that I could set up my tarp just in case.

When I finally arrived at camp, I was elated to find there were numerous hanging options. I ended up picking two trees that were closer together than I would have liked, but after some tinkering, I got my angles set up. When I was feeling confident, I set up all of my other gear. I only had about 45 minutes of daylight left.