Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    BBXLC
    Tarp
    12' HG Journey
    Insulation
    Wooki 20*

Preventive Maintenance Plan

I'm curious what everyone's preventive maintenance/replacement schedule is like with their hammock equipment. I'm still new to this, so havent really had to do much myself so trying to plan out when I need to do some upkeep. What's on your list for upkeep tasks?

In my head, here's what I would think would be on the list:
    1) Replace continuous loops - every year
    (maybe this is paranoid, but I got dropped early on and keep a close eye on these. After about a year of backpacking trips they start to look a little fuzzy so I've swapped them out for peace of mind)

2) Replace suspension straps - ???
    Haven't needed to yet, but there's a couple spots on some of my straps that are showing wear

3) Replace hammock body - ???
    How many nights would you expect before these fabrics need replacement?

4) Wash down quilts - Every other year for top quilts
    I've been putting this off on my top quilt which seems to be taking longer to loft up, though it hasn't failed to keep me warm yet. Has anyone ever needed to wash their UQ? I haven't seen any sign of loft issues with mine.

5) Tarp weatherproofing - ???
    How long does seam sealing and the silpoly coating last?

Hammock
    DW Chameleon, WB Eldorado
    Tarp
    Thunder/Superfly
    Insulation
    HG 20/40
    Suspension
    DW Beetle Buckles
    Good topic, I haven't really thought it about it but I only got started with all my gear back in 2018.

1. I haven't replaced them on any of my hammocks. I do carry a spare CL just in case something did happen. I notice that the colors change on the stress point where they hook onto my beetle buckles, so I periodically remove, inspect, rotate, then reinstall the CLs...usually when I get my gear together to pack for a trip.

2. Haven't yet, but do inspect them for any stretches, cuts or tears.