Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    BBXLC
    Tarp
    12' HG Journey
    Insulation
    Wooki 20*

Wind river range - 7 day trip

Ever since I got back into backpacking 3 years ago, I've been eyeing a trip to the wind river range. There have been many reasons it took this long to go and eventually I decided to just go solo rather than delaying it even further after 2 friends had to back out. Life's too short, make the most of it.

I will say, I had a lot of time to think on this trip and during planning about a trend I've noticed where people go on backpacking trips that are cookie cutter routes. In discussing with others, THE Skurka wind river high route or THE cirque of the towers loop kept coming up. There were people I met going out of the Big Sandy trailhead who'd never heard of major destinations like Baptiste or Grave Lake that are arguably most easily accessed from that trailhead. Now, these were friendly conversations and all is meant well, but if it's my first time in this mountain range and your fifth and I have a better feel for where everything is located, then are you really exploring and adventuring? Also, God forbid, are you equipping yourself to extract yourself if something were to go wrong? It's just odd to me that there seems to be a large number of people that do these major hikes seemingly for the bragging rights of having followed an established "Joe mountain" published route and I think they're robbing themselves of an authentic wilderness experience. On the other hand, that meant that I didn't see another person for a 40, 25, and 20 hr period respectively during this trip despite the trailhead being packed because everyone else was jam packed on certain trails I avoided.

Now that that rant is over....