Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hammock System Total Weight?

Hello hammockers,

I am very new to hammocks, and putting everything together and just doing some weight comparisons. Is it me or is hammocking slightly heavier than ground camping? On the ground, I was using a River Country Products trekker tent at 2.9 lbs, thermarest ridge rest at 1.14 lbs, and a wiggy sleeping bag at 3.55 lbs. For my whole hammock setup, I'm already at 3.106 lbs and that is without a top quilt and underquilt. I'm DIY everything, so I'm hoping to shave off a little bit with the diy top and bottom quilt using climashield from RSBTR so maybe it'll just be a wash. I was hoping my hammocking would be lighter weight but it doesn't seem like it will be. My tarp is a hex12 from ripstopbytheroll, and a MTN 1.7 single layer hammock, and fronkey bug net. Do the separate weight of these hammocking items look okay to you?

Hammock + bug net + ridgeline = 1.558 lbs
    Tarp plus all the ropes and stakes = 1.038 lbs
    Tree Straps plus whoopies = 0.51 lbs.
    Total = 3.106 lbs

I'm making my TQ and UQ this weekend and just praying they will not end up heavy. If the combined weight of my TQ and UQ are less than 4.484 lbs, then I should be good but I'm using climashield and that will be heavier than down.

That being said, all this has been a fun project for me. I've slept in my hammock three nights already and I can say I definitely sleep better in it than on a thin and uncomfortable ridge rest. I was able to do all my sewing using a sailrite. I think when the hammock starts rocking I just can't keep my eyes open!

What are some of your hammock systems total weights?

Hammock
    BBXLC
    Tarp
    12' HG Journey
    Insulation
    Wooki 20*
    For me, hammock can be barely lighter than tent when solo, but not even close when I can share weight with another person. I'll do an oversimplified comparison.

Tent setup:
    Tent= 2 lbs, 3F UL Lanshan 2 Pro
    Pad = 1lb 8 oz, Rapide SL 25"