Post Retired Former 12 year BOY SCOUT leader from the Hoosier State

Hello All I'm a medically retired Wood Badge Trained (Bear Patrol) Boy Scout Leader for 12 years and was a leader when my Eagle Scout son was in the Boy Scouting Program from Tiger Cub to Eagle Scout (Before 2013) and tent camped two W/E a month and 6 weeks of 7 day summer camps over 6 years with the Troop...I'm a newbie to Hanging as I was a ground tent camper all of my life until my medical condition has prevented me from trying to get on the ground anymore and I really miss camping so I thought I would give Hammock camping a try...I have an ENO Double Nest with Atlas Straps and an ENO bug net I am going to try to use my Big Agnes 20 Deg Echo Park Down Bag with my Therma rest in the sleave and I'm ready to pick a tarp I think I'm going to go with a ENO House Fly Tarp also thinking about an UQ eventually maybe some sort of War Bonnet full length.... I'm learning a lot from the short time I have been on the forums ... Hoosier 1957

Hammock
    Blackbird
    Tarp
    11' WB Superfly
    Insulation
    Wookie
    Suspension
    Beckett and EVOs
    Welcome to the forums! I'm a former Cub Scout leader myself - I did a lot of Scout camping myself, since I was one of the Baloo trained leaders. That was where I was first introduced to hammock camping - my oldest son was a Webelo-2 at the time and visited the Boy Scouts for a camping trip. A few of them were using hammocks, and we decided to do some research into the topic. Now we've got two Warbonnet hammocks (Blackbird XL for me, regular Blackbird for him) and a Dutchware Chameleon for my youngest son.
    Anyway - there is a lot to learn on this journey so feel free to ask any questions you may have. Be safe and have some fun!

@hoosier1957,

Welcome.