Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

What is the lowest temperature I can get down to with 20 degree UQ & 40 degree TQ?

I have a 40 degree UQ & TQ but I am only comfortable with them down to 55 degrees if i set it up right.

Since my hammock is a Chameleon, and the zip on chameleon looks very easy to work with, i want to get the 20 degree and was wondering how low can i get with a 20 degree UQ with UQ protector, and a 40 degree top quilt?

thanks

Hammock
    DW Chameleon, WB Eldorado
    Tarp
    Thunder/Superfly
    Insulation
    HG 20/40
    Suspension
    DW Beetle Buckles
    Depends on what was getting cold. When you got cold with your 40/40 setup, was it only on your back?

With my 40/40 Phoenix/Burrow, I've gotten cold as it approached the 40s. My feet and lower legs got cold with the 3/4 length UQ and I didn't supplement my footbox. But my upper body was fine.

Feet, lower legs and occasinally my a$$. All under. Top was ok i think

Hammock
    WBBB, WBRR, WL LiteOwl
    Tarp
    OES, WL BullFro
    Insulation
    HG UQ, TQ, WB UQ
    Suspension
    Python Straps
    Elionoxa, people are different in their "I'm getting cold" level. And there is a difference between a bridge hammock and a gathered end (GE) hammock. And then there's the setup - how well the UQ is adjusted to the hammock. So you see, there is no definitive answer to your question.

We like to think, "The vendor says this is a 20° UQ so I should be comfortable at 20°. But that's just not how it works. Some people might be comfortable, but in 20° temperatures, I'd be comfortable with a 0° or 10° UQ. Also, maybe the 20° UQ would be comfortable if it were adjusted "just right"; maybe not.

If the UQ is just on the edge of performance, an Under Quilt Protector (UQP) is an inexpensive addition that would definitely help. In winter temperatures a full sock would also add a lot of heat retention, but you could have condensation challenges as it's sort of like being in a suspended single-wall tent.