Dream Hammock Sparrow
    Tarp
    HG Dyneema Winter
    Insulation
    HG Phoenix/Burrow
    Suspension
    DW Spider 1.5

Dyneema composite tarp and guylines

About to purchase a Dyneema tarp (cuben fiber) and am coming from a silnylon tarp. With the silnylon tarp, I made self tensioning guylines to take care of sag. I understand that Dyneema tarps have much less stretch and am wondering if self tensioning guylines are completely unnecessary or if there would still be a benefit to them.

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images
    I generally look at shock cord as the weakest link in any tarp system. It's a crappy product that offers very little benefit in any application. I've been using DCF tarps for the past 12 years and cannot imagine any benefit to using shock cord. But some people swear by it, like Shug.

I use Zing-It guylines with no shock cord.
    "A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." Ralph Waldo Emerson

Hammock
    Dream Hammock Sparrow
    Tarp
    HG Dyneema Winter
    Insulation
    HG Phoenix/Burrow
    Suspension
    DW Spider 1.5
    Well even with the shockcord, it's running parallel to my zing it providing tension. If it breaks, the line is still there, though I've never had shock any which cord break. I'm just wondering if there's a need for it with Dyneema, or does it not sag like silnylon? If you're only using zing it with a Dyneema tarp, does it remain taught all night?

Hammock
    Dream Dangerbird
    Tarp
    HG Dyneema
    Insulation
    HG TQ & UQ 20
    Suspension
    Whoopie
    Images
    I don't use the self tensioning shock cord on my CF Hex and I have had no problems with it.

Hammock
    Warbonnet Ridgerunner
    Tarp
    HG DCF std w/doors
    Insulation
    WM TQ, UGQ UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie slings
    Images