Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

HG Premium Incubator lost loft and migrated

Hello guys,

I am a Hammock camping newb, have been out for couple of weeks.

Last month had high temp variations between day and night and at around 4 to 6 AM the dew point made my 40 degree down UQ wet to the touch, I used it like that for a couple of days.

Now while I am at home, it has lost its puffiness and it looks like the down is crumbled in the middle and its moving up and down leaving either the head or feet exposed and the outside material just becomes floppy and empty inside.

How do I solve this problem?

thank you

Hammock
    SLD Trail Lair, Chameleon
    Tarp
    HG, Zpacks, DIY
    Insulation
    Loco Libre, HG
    Suspension
    MyersTech
    Images
    It might be worth a try to wash your quilt to help rejuvenate the loft. Nikwax make a gentle wash solution specifically for washing down. Front load washing machine only & tumble dry on very low heat. When drying my quilts, I throw in 3 tennis balls to help with drying & to restoring loft.

Hammock
    Warbonnet Ridgerunner
    Tarp
    HG DCF std w/doors
    Insulation
    WM TQ, UGQ UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie slings
    Images
    The only thing I would add is to put your quilts into the dryer after every hike at zero heat for 20 minutes with 5-6 balls in the dryer. I personally use the wool-based dryer balls rather than tennis balls, but that's just based on my experience.
    Iceman857

"An optimist is a man who plants two acorns and buys a hammock" - Jean de Lattre de Tassigny (French Army General in WWII)

Hammock
    Onewind 11’ w/ridgeline
    Tarp
    Onewind 12’ Silnyl
    Insulation
    Underquilt
    Suspension
    Cinch buckles & St
    It’s worth mentioning that Hammock Gear has a pretty extensive set of Maintenance and Care instructions on their website for just such a situation:

https://hammockgear.com/quilt-care-instructions/

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Hammock
    DIY 1.7 MTN XL GE
    Tarp