Warbonnet Blackbird
    Tarp
    HG DCF Camo Palace
    Insulation
    EE and Warbonnet
    Suspension
    Dutch Beetle Bucks

Threshold to switch from 20F to 0F setup

Hi guys, another noob here with another noob question.

I now have both a full 20F UQ/TQ pairing and a 0F UQ/TQ pairing - I bought an EE 20F UQ to pair with my EE 20F quilt that I already had for UL backpacking in a tent. I also just picked up a Warbonnet Wooki 0F UQ and Warbonnet Diamondback 0F top quilt.

My question is, at what forecasted overnight low, do you guys switch from bringing your 20F insulation pairing to your 0F insulation pairing? As a ground sleeper, I would bring my 0F sleeping bag over my 20F quilt if the overnight low was forecasted to hit below 30. I’m guessing it might be a different story in the hammock. I know it depends on the person and what they wear to bed, but I was curious what others switchover temp was. In the ground, I didn’t mind sleeping in my pants and puff if needed, but in the hammock I plan to try sleeping in just a dry base layer top and bottom (I mean I made the switch for comfort reasons) so I’m guesstimating I should bring the 0F gear over the 20F gear if the coldest overnight low breaks freezing, 32F. Might sound too conservative and I’ll have to experiment, but I’ve learned that too much insulation is always better than not enough.

Hammock
    Chameleon
    Tarp
    Minifly/Pappy Plce
    Insulation
    Down/Apex
    Suspension
    Straps
    Images
    I'm a warm sleeper....
    Will use my 30° set down to the upper 20s.
    Will use my 20° set down to the upper teens.
    Then will use my 0° set.

Hammock
    SLD Trail Lair
    Tarp
    Thunderfly
    Insulation
    JRB Greylock 3
    Suspension
    UCR/Spider Straps