Warbonnet Blackbird
    Tarp
    HG DCF Camo Palace
    Insulation
    EE and Warbonnet
    Suspension
    Dutch Beetle Bucks

Upgrade top or bottom first?

Wasn’t sure whether to put this in the top quilt or under quilt forum.

I’m a noob to hammocking. I have an Enlightened Equipment Enigma 20F quilt that I’ve been using on the ground for years. I will be using as my top quilt. I just ordered an Enlightened Equipment Revolt V2 20F bottom quilt. My question is this. If I want to expand my ability to go colder now, should my next purchase be a 0F top quilt or 0F under quilt? I’m leaning towards 0F top quilt since my current top quilt has seen 5 years of use, and I can always combine an inflatable insulated pad under me with the 20F under quilt. However, I also have a 0F sleeping bag, that I can actually combine with my 20F top quilt.

Is there any particular logic on whether to prioritize upgrading warmth on the Top or Bottom first?

Thanks,
    John

Hammock
    Bonefire Whisper
    Tarp
    HG DCF Hex
    Insulation
    Sheltowee JRB SS
    Suspension
    Bonefire
    I've never been cold from the top down. It's always from the bottom up.
    Signature suspended

I'd lean toward the UQ and I'd be looking hard at a Wooki. FWIW, 5 years on that EE isn't even a factor! It's almost new!

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images
    You'll get the most bang out of an underquilt. However, don't do what my friend did - he bought a 0* UQ and thought he was all set. We went camping and about 4 am in the morning, I went to water the bushes. I found my friend shivering by the dying fire and asked him what was wrong. He said he was freezing to death. I asked how he could be freezing to death with a 0* UQ (the low that night was 18* F). Well, turns out that the UQ is all he brought - he had no TQ. He didn't think he would need it.