Tarp
    HG DCF Camo Palace
    Insulation
    EE and Warbonnet
    Suspension
    Dutch Beetle Bucks

Will this setup work?

Hi all,

While I have 10+ years experience UL backpacking, bushcrafting, and hot tenting, etc, I’m new to hammocking. I always avoided it because I always have my dog in tow and thought it wouldn’t work for me. After adding a sub7 as a luxury item for lounging in camp, I was hooked and with a little research learned that I can make it work with my dog.

So my question is this. I have a Hummingbird Hammocks long which is 128” (10’8”) with a 105” (8’9”) structural ridgeline. I am hoping to use my ZPacks 8.5’ x 10’ dyneema flat tarp. I’ve already experienced 2 pretty serious thunderstorms with this combo pitching the tarp in a diamond. However, I would like to order the Cave Creek Pet Palace for my dog and bug protection for both of us. But the rectangular bathtub floor won’t work well with a diamond pitch, so I’d have to pitch the tarp along the 10’ ridgeline.

With the tarp pitched with a 10’ ridge line and the 105” structural ridge line on my hammock, that would leave 7.5” overhang on each end. Will that work, or do I need to go to an 11’ tarp? I love my ZPacks tarp and like the idea of how familiar I am with going to the ground with it, so I’m hoping this can work.

Thanks I’m advance from a hammock noob.

Hammock
    WBRR
    Tarp
    SLD Winter Hvn
    Insulation
    Apex/Down
    Suspension
    Birch/Beetle buckl
    Assuming you use drip lines, a 7.5” overhang should work most of the time. Other people on the forum who have more experience than me may know better, though. Also, if you have water blowing in, it’s also possible to rig a poncho over the most upwind end. People do get tarps with doors to have better end coverage, but of course they weight more.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Hammock
    Warbonnet Blackbird
    Tarp
    HG DCF Camo Palace
    Insulation
    EE and Warbonnet
    Suspension
    Dutch Beetle Bucks