Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Underquilt Suspension Decision

Hello everyone!

As I poked through the interwebs on the topic of underquilts, I came across this wonderful place called hammockforums and as a noob, I seek wisdom.

I have decided to do a DIY hammock UQ primarily because of cost savings (seems to be a common DIY theme), and I am having trouble deciding which suspension method to use. I've read up on the clew suspension... seems like a good idea. I was going to stick with that until recently, as I thought about it more, the common shock-cord-across-the-edges with synch cords at either end sounded more appealing. But alas, no decision. I would love to hear some advantages/disadvantages of each so I can compare and contrast! Also, the lower the weight, the better but I am willing to sacrifice if one is significantly easier to use, forms better around body, less drafts, etc.
    Thanks!!

Additionally, I ordered the 1/16" shock cord (originally for the clew) but I'm curious if it would be too thin for the shock-corded edges method if I decide to switch...

Hammock
    WildernessLogics 12x6
    Tarp
    HG cuben 13ridge12
    Insulation
    TopQuiltUnderQuilt
    Suspension
    S and D
    Not sure, I think my UQ suspension is 1/8
    Check with cottage vendors, use same gauge they use.
    If shock cord is too stretchy, then it can’t do it’s job

Hammock
    DW Chameleon, WB Eldorado
    Tarp
    Thunder/Superfly
    Insulation
    HG 20/40
    Suspension
    DW Beetle Buckles
    Most of the shock cord for the edges is 3/32 or 1/8 (they recommend it for under 20F temps).

Quote Originally Posted by FLTurtle View Post
    Most of the shock cord for the edges is 3/32 or 1/8 (they recommend it for under 20F temps).
    I'm using the catsplat calculator with the specs I want, the UQ weight is around 13oz (30F temp). You think that would be too heavy and stretch out the cord?

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    DIY Bridge
    Insulation
    DIY Down