Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Minifly protection

I'd decided on buying a Minifly as a first tarp (to use with a Hennessy hammock, then possibly with a Warbonnet Eldorado if I buy a second hammock).

However, when I spoke with the dealer (and my mind is now hazy about what he actually said) he said that it wasn't a good choice for a beginner as it's a minimalist tarp and needs experience to make it work. I think he also said it didn't provide much coverage in bad weather.

I watched Shugs' video and didn't think it looked too bad, but I'm new to all this.

I can see that a large tarp is going to be more comfortable, but I'll be using the hammock when cycle touring, and pack space is limited, plus I'd prefer to keep weight to a minimum.

However, if the Minifly is likely to cause me grief, what tarp would you recommend?

Hammock
    WBBB, WBRR, WL LiteOwl
    Tarp
    OES, WL BullFro
    Insulation
    HG UQ, TQ, WB UQ
    Suspension
    Python Straps
    In your situation, if you want to stick with WarBonnet (Good Choice), I’d go with a ThunderFly. First, there is nothing wrong with the MiniFly and it will keep YOU dry, but maybe not your bike. That’s the point. With the larger ThunderFly, you have more dry area outside your hammock. I’m guessing you plan to have your bike under cover too.

It’s all a matter of degrees/choices. With a minifly you could lay your bike down under your hammock - being sure not to step on it when you get up. In a more aggressive rain you can rig the Minifly closer to the hammock and guy the sides down close. All “doable” but maybe not desirable. With the real estate of the ThunderFly (or larger), you can stand your bike up, put your gear on a ground sheet under your hammock, and have some space to move around outside your hammock. Given that the gear will be on your bike and not on your back, I doubt the weight/bulk difference between the Mini and the Thunder would make much difference.