Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Lightbulb Help! I need feedback and input on my capstone project!

Hi! I'm Jon, a senior Industrial Design student and for my senior capstone, I want to redesign the hammock to make it smaller to carry or as a piece of apparel that unfolds into a hammock. I just want to get some thoughts and feedback. This survey will take around 3-5 min. Thank you so much for your time!!

https://forms.gle/FVaG6gjtbxYUR6VUA

Hammock
    Dutch Gear Hexon 1.7
    Tarp
    Chill Gorilla
    Insulation
    DIY EB Quilts
    Suspension
    Kevlar
    Being an engineer by trade myself, I need to ask
    1) what is your metric for smaller? It will be hard to beat the designs like Dutch's cloud fabric.
    2) are only looking at the hammock or full system with insulation and weather protection? Again, see point 1 about what is the target metric.

You'll need to look at the innovative designs already on the market and argue what improvements your design would address.

While you await responses to your survey, I think you will find answers to most of your questions throughout the history of posts on this forum.

Best of luck with your project.
    A day camping in the rain is better than a good day at work,
    --Shaw.

tsshaw78 is too hard to say on the trail - Just call me Shaw.

Hammock
    WBBB SL 1.7
    Tarp
    WB Mamajamba
    Insulation
    WB 0° Wooki +3oz
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckles
    Images
    In my opinion, the bulk of the hammock is not really a problem. You can make a hammock with a tiny packing volume if you make it short, narrow and from the lightest fabric that still holds your weight. But making it comfortable as well is going to be a challenge. Also, there are quite a few designs that are going to be difficult to beat, e.g. this one.

If I wanted to focus on decreasing packing volume, I would look into new designs for hammock insulation. Or possibly a hammock with integrated insulation.

Hammock
    DH Darien, SLD Tree Runner
    Tarp