Tarp
    DIY 11'
    Insulation
    DIY UQ
    Suspension
    whoppie slings

Salutations from a paraglider, France

Hi

I'm William. I stay nearby Toulon, south east of France, 10km from Mediterranean sea.

I'm 45. I've been paragliding since 2010, and spend most of my free time flying with friends. We are mainly into hike and fly, and, even if I'm not good in cross-country flight, I plan to go for bivouac trips with my paraglider.

I have thus stitched my own 11' ultralight hammock (480g with integrated bugnet, carriyng bag, suspensions, ridgeline - standing in a 12cm diameter and 20cm length bag - no fully compressed) made from Hexon 1.2 and noseeum, and I'm in progress for stitching a 11' cat cut tarp from Xenon Sil 1.1, and a full-size underquilt.
    The underquilt will be Climashield, as I'm a vegetarian and quite concerned about animal wellfare (I couldn't stand Peta video about down business). I guess it will be heavier and bulkier but it's ok. I plan less than 1 kg with 167g/m2 Climashield, 10D fabric and spandex conical suspensions. My concern is more about compression as I need to carry all this stuff in my backpack, together with the glider and harness (which are light but still take some space)

This set may follow me from April till October in the French Alps, where I can expect temperatures around 0°C during nigh time. If the underquilt is not sufficient, I will use the paraglider as another bottom layer.

I also do kitesurfing and love spending time in my garden, where I try to grow fruit trees (all kind, with a special preference for cold-resistant citrus / feijoas / old varieties of vines), and some veggies. I'm not a pro permaculturist, but I tend to apply Molisson principles as much as I can, and do my veggie garden with no soil work and almost no input except organic and local manure.